// Helvetica

18 04 2009

I can’t say I’m one of those designers who relies upon Helvetica for all design work, in fact, I used to see it so frequently throughout university that I actually came to dislike it (through no fault of its own). It’s no secret that my heart currently lies with Swis 721 (thin & light in particular) ♥


However, I recently came across Helvetica when font-browsing on my work computer and I realised that actually, I do quite like it! To the extent that I opted for a new desktop image:





I also came across a really interesting article the other day, when perusing webdesignerdepot.com. I’m not actually a web designer, but the website also features a multitude of general design related things which makes for interesting reading. The article I’m referring to is ’40 Excellent Logos Created with Helvetica’.


My favourites out of the selection provided are Tupperware, Skype and The North Face. They’re all simple, yet effective, and obviously they are all well known, well established brands. Which are your favourites?


Actions

Information

2 responses

18 04 2009
Kate

Fonts are so interesting — all those logos look so different, despite being made with the same font! My personal favourite is Perpetua.

Helvetica always reminds me of Nubby Twiglet actually, she’s obsessed with it, haha. She’s a graphic designer too, you might find her site interesting :)

19 04 2009
xkonstantine

Oh thanks, I’ll check her site out! =)

I’m not hugely familiar with Perpetua, but I just checked it out, and I like the look of the ‘small caps’ version. There are a lot of variants of Helvetica, so that’s how it manages to look totally different in all the examples – it’s so versatile.

Leave a Reply

