// The Rejection of PDF’s

2 07 2009

As you know by now, I am currently seeking employment, having been made redundant from my last Graphic Design position. My current frustration is dedicated job sites who refuse to accept a PDF file for a CV. And I quote, Unfortunately we are unable to accept the file format you have just tried to upload. Please save your CV as either a Word Document (.doc or .docx), a Text file (.txt) or in Rich Text Format (.rtf) and try again.


A text file? Why would anybody produce a CV as a text file? This is not a personal attack on anyone producing their CV in Microsoft Word, quite the opposite in fact – if you want to produce a simple CV, then go for it! MS Word is fine as a Word Processor, in fact I’d go so far as to say it’s great as a Word Processor, but I’m a Graphic Designer, my CV has been designed. Am I really going to have a shoddy CV produced using a generic MS Word “résumé” template? No. I don’t think I am. My CV has been created using Adobe InDesign. It’s personal to me. It isn’t a template. It looks good. Need I go on?

Enough complaining for now, I need to hunt down this job vacancy on an alternate website. One that accepts PDF documents.

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 07 2009
Kim

Ugh, that’s ridiculous. PDF’s are so much easier to look at! Nothing moves around, all the fonts are embedded etc.

Good luck! x

2 07 2009
xkonstantine

My thoughts exactly. If only others (*coughjobsitescough*) would realise that, and update their systems!

So long as fonts aren’t outlined, it’s just as easy to copy and paste information from a PDF document as it is from a Word document, so I really don’t see the problem.

& thank you, I have my fingers and toes crossed!

2 07 2009
Karoni

haha, i know what you mean dude. it frustrates me & i’m not even a designer! :P

2 07 2009
xkonstantine

I feel like less of a mentalist knowing a non-designer feels my pain!

‘Karoni’ certainly takes me back, it’s been god knows how long since I heard you call yourself that?!

17 07 2009
// PDF to Word « // xkonstantine

[…] PDF to Word 17 07 2009 Further to my blog entry the other day on The Rejection of PDF’s, I’ve stumbled across a website which claims to be the Most Accurate PDF-to-Word Converter. […]

Leave a Reply

