// PDF to Word

17 07 2009



Further to my blog entry the other day on The Rejection of PDF’s, I’ve stumbled across a website which claims to be the Most Accurate PDF-to-Word Converter.

Given the problems I mentioned, with some job sites only accepting Word docs instead of the more stable PDF format, I thought I’d give it a try…I heard mixed reviews, from those saying it worked perfectly, to those for whom it failed spectacularly.

I personally was neither impressed nor unimpressed. Sure, it did it. Not appallingly, but not outstandingly either. One of my main issues is that on my CV I was using fonts that aren’t available on all systems (another reason why PDF wins as a file type) and this application has converted my headings from Adobe Garamond Pro to Times New Roman. Sigh.

Needs must though, if you’re going to use a Word document. As for the body text, it’s there, but there are some huge issues with my kerning for some reason. And I’m not even sure if kerning can be adjusted in MS Word. That’s a problem for another day, as so far I’ve been able to work around the non-PDF friendly sites, finding the same job vacancy posted on a site that does accept PDF’s.

Try it yourself here, and let me know if you have any more or less success than I did.

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 07 2009
Karen

It worked really well for my CV.

23 07 2009
xkonstantine

How basic / intricate was your original PDF document?

Leave a Reply

