// A Sydney landmark

24 08 2009

Week three is upon us, and we’re all halfway through the six challenges to win four tickets to Sydney (two for the winner, and two for their online community). Week three involves the recreation of something in Sydney: We want to see you recreate a well-known building, monument or geographical feature, and have your photo taken in front of it. How you go about making the icon is entirely up to you – we’re thinking about going down the mashed-potato Sydney Opera House avenue (seems perfectly sane to us)!

Tricky! Of course, there are the landmarks which everyone knows; the Opera House, Harbour Bridge, but I wanted something a bit different, so I started to dig around the internet in search of Sydney-shaped inspiration, and this is what I came across — Anzac Bridge.





About the bridge
The ANZAC Bridge is the longest cable-stayed bridge in Australia, and amongst the longest in the world at 32.2 metres wide and 345 metres . The new bridge was opened on December 3, 1995, and was criticised by some as “overengineered” because of its size – with seven lanes for traffic. The criticism proved unfounded as the bridge was reconfigured for eight traffic lanes in 2005. The bridge was given its current name on Remembrance Day in 1998 to honour the memory of the soldiers of the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) served in World War I.



My representation of the bridge is here. I think it’s fair to say this is the task I’ve found most difficult across the course of the last three weeks and I don’t doubt that the pace is going to pick up even more over the coming three. I had my landmark, my idea, but it’s been a long time since I’ve tried to construct something 3D (probably getting on for a decade!), and so my execution of said idea isn’t the best, but I’ve completed the challenge, and before the deadline. As you know, I’m a graphic designer, so I did toy with the idea of photoshopping my creation, but wasn’t sure that would fulfil the ‘recreate’ part of the task, as essentially it would have been a visualisation, not a recreation. I’m finished for this week, keen to see what the other contestants have come up with, and awaiting the next challenge!

Materials: two large pieces of card, corkscrew, 17.5m of coloured embroidery thread, two bottles of Robinsons orange & mango squash, brown tape and my posable wooden (wo)man. NB: corkscrew, Robinsons squash and brown tape used behind the scenes only!

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 08 2009
Nikki

This was a hard challenge, I think you did really well!

24 08 2009
Caity

Wow that is so awesome!! :D

24 08 2009
xkonstantine

Thank you! You’re right Nikki, it was hard. I thought for a while there that I was going to flat out fail =/

Leave a Reply

