// The Ampersand

24 08 2009

The ampersand is a ligature, which combines e and t to form the Latin et, which means and. The array of typographic designs for the ampersand are wildly varied, but in most of them, you can still make out the ‘e’ and the ‘t’ characters.

I’ve just spent the last couple of hours trawling the internet. Looking at one image, browsing through the blog it’s been posted on. Seeing a few more images I like. Searching for others and beginning the cycle once more…One of my favourite finds this evening is this. I think one day, when time allows (that’s right, even when not working I never feel as though I have enough hours in the day), I’d like to try my hand at creating something along the same lines.

Whilst perusing various websites, I realised just how many ampersand objects there are. So many in fact, that I could (and probably will) write a blog entry solely about them.

Do I have you running for the hills yet readers? A mid-twenties girl who seems pretty normal, but is actually obsessed with ampersands and pretty typography.

Don’t worry – I’m not even close to being finished discussing my favourite typographic character ;)

Actions

Information

6 responses

25 08 2009
// Ampersand accessories « // xkonstantine

[…] Ampersand accessories 25 08 2009 As I was saying yesterday about constantly getting caught up in the cycle of clicking into things and getting distracted, […]

25 08 2009
Kate

I love the ampersand. A few months ago, I woke up thinking about it, and immediately turned my computer on to go and look it up on wikipedia. That’s when I realised I really loved it XD

25 08 2009
xkonstantine

I’m relieved to not be the only one! I might’ve ‘wasted’ time perusing the internet of late, but it’s been so fascinating I haven’t been able to stop myself!

25 08 2009
Caity

Oh my gosh. I feel so ridiculous for never realizing (especially for actually taking six years of Latin in high school) for not making the connection of what an ampersand actually stood for. I guess I learn something new every day.

I really do love ampersands, though. I enjoy looking at different fonts and how they are represented in them, too.

Here are two posts I love that I have bookmarked from forever ago. I’m such a font whore.
http://www.blog.spoongraphics.co.uk/articles/the-funkiest-ampersands-you-have-ever-seen
http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2008/08/15/ampersands-with-attitude/

PS: I love Smashing Magazine.

26 08 2009
xkonstantine

It’s not obvious on all ampersands, only some have it really pronounced still. For example, this one you can clearly make out the ‘E’ but not the ‘t’.

Thanks for the links! They’re awesome, and not ones I’ve seen before. I especially like the Smashing Mag one. S/M is a great resource, I love it too =)

17 09 2009
// Calendar Design « // xkonstantine

[…] it be amazing to reproduce? I’m currently almost finished my last personal project, the ampersand, which I’m hoping to complete and share once I’m settled into my new home. It’s […]

Leave a Reply

