// First impressions

8 09 2009

I had planned to blog about this a while ago (when I was job hunting, specifically) as whilst trawling the internet for design companies to approach, I was completed and utterly dumbfounded at the number of horrendous websites I came across who offer design for web and print.

First impressions, anyone? For me, they are vital, yet there is a vast amount of ‘design’ companies who apparently do not think so. Unsightly websites, with no consideration having been given to space, colour or layout, and just as bad – riddled with spelling errors and poor grammar. Of course I’m not saying that I’m perfect by any stretch of the imagination, and like everyone else, I make (occasional) mistakes, but I didn’t want to work for a company that doesn’t take pride in the work they produce for themselves as well as their clients.

If I were looking for a company to create me a website, the first thing I would take note of is their own website. Surely that’s the best sales tool a web design company has? If a web company has an amazing website, prospective clients will know you can make them an amazing website. If the web company have an crap website, I hope you’re going to be clicking straight onto that little cross in the corner of your browser.

You may disagree, but in my opinion, that’s exactly what a company like that deserves. If they don’t care when it comes to presenting themselves, how much will they care when it comes to presenting you…?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

