// Fonts: ligatures

29 05 2010

I’ll keep this brief, but I’ve been baffled recently when working on a logo development project (freelance) as to just how many typefaces don’t include a simple ‘fi’ ligature.

I’ve mentioned in the past just how enamoured I am with typographic ligatures, but these are mostly the discretionary ones such as the c/k and s/t shown on the Calluna sample, which I appreciate aren’t integrated into every typeface in existance.

They make those letter combinations simply beautiful, but those combinations also work fine as they are; to me, the f/i combination sans-ligature looks somewhat unsightly, not to mention awkward.

Image credit: Daniel Ullrich

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

